I did look up Costco, their rates are about the same as others with additional driver included. In all other states, there are no limitations by law on what the rental companies can charge, so if you can't avoid the additional driver fee using one of the strategies below, then be sure to check with the rental company on how much they charge per day. Inbound Tour Renters Inbound tour customers are permitted to rent from Budget corporate-operated locations at the minimum age of 19. Reservations with Avis and Budget under the Costco code only receive an additional driver in the United States. Drivers under 25 will be charged a young driver fee, which varies by location.
Our counter agents are happy to answer any questions you might have regarding your rental. Additional Driver Fees: Fees may apply; renters should check with their preferred Dollar rental location for their car rental additional driver policy for the amount of extra driver fees. Editorial Note: We're the Million Mile Secrets team. Do you know any organization in Switzerland that can support me with this topic like Consumer Protection or something? I would contact customer service for a refund. Customers renting a car with Enterprise Rent-A-Car can add their spouse or domestic partner as an authorized driver for no additional fee, according to the Enterprise website.
Cars are reserved, unlocked, paid for, and receipts are issued, all via a slick smartphone app. Could anyone shed some light on this? Others: For any companies not listed above, please contact the company directly to confirm their policy on additional drivers. Minimum Age Exceptions: Licensee-owned and non-U. The minimum age to rent a car from Dollar is 21 years. Other individuals will incur a per-day fee. I'll give Hertz more pushback next time.
An additional driver for any company is anyone other than the renter who drives the rental car. Please note that, if you choose to extend your rental, your original rental rate may no longer be available. It cannot be made public again. Mietbedingungen Dieses Angebot ist bei teilnehmenden Hertz Stationen verfügbar. Disclosure: some of the companies listed below are advertisers on TheFlightExpert. Everytime they charge us and everytime we ask for a refund post travel. But if you enrolled May 11, 2014 or earlier can still add another driver for free.
Other rental car companies such as Thrifty, Dollar, National, Hertz and Alamo charge you to add an additional driver. If you're unclear, review the rental contract terms or ask the rental agent or manager for confirmation. Find answers to these questions and more in the ; check out some ; see ; browse by car rental company; or learn about some when you rent a car. Exemptions for Car Rental Additional Driver Policy on Extra Driver Fees There is no additional driver fee for the renter's spouse for rentals at Hertz locations in California or Iowa. Compensation does not impact the placement of cards on Million Mile Secrets other than in banner advertising. If you rent cars only in the state of California, you can probably stop reading now since we have some great news for you. You must confirm policy for a specific location in order to find their policy.
Q: Which states prohibit car rental companies from charging fees for additional drivers, or limit the fee amount? The minimum age for additional drivers on Alamo rental agreements is 21 years. It's perfectly fine if you choose not to return the car on or before your scheduled return date, but on or before that date you must contact a Budget reservation agent at 800-527-7000, and that agent will be happy to accommodate your request, if possible. Since a Rental Agreement varies slightly based on your rental dates, type of car and location, we can't present you with an exact copy of the agreement you will be asked to sign at the counter. So there will be 3 separate rentals, and we won't take the on the ferry. It's always best to check the terms and conditions on your confirmation or on the to see which rules apply for your selected location.
So it could make sense to rent from those companies, even if they charge higher rates to save on paying extra fees for an additional driver elsewhere. Exceptions: must still meet minimum age and license requirements - government renters on official government orders which specify car rental- Dollar corporate account customers on corporate rate plans - designated drivers of physically impaired customers. The citation only will be accepted up until the court appearance date shown on the citation or summons. This goes for all companies, regardless of whether the additional driver is a spouse or someone unrelated to you. Pay the fee when required, or use one of the ideas for additional driver fee waivers in this article. Location Rentals vary, however most allow a minimum age of 18-24 for a small surcharge. It's not worth taking the chance and being socked with a huge bill for totaling a car after the insurance company refuses to pay.
That's how the info has read for years. According to the Avis website, the spouse or domestic partner of a primary rental car driver may be added as a driver to the rental contract for no additional charge. Spouses are excluded from these requirements and are automatically added to the rental agreement under all circumstances in the following states: California, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, and Wisconsin. Rules at and locations outside of the U. Ob Sie sich auf eine lange Reise begeben oder Sie sich einfach nur bei Ihrer Fahrt abwechseln möchten, Hertz bietet ab sofort die Möglichkeit an, mehrere Zusatzfahrer im Mietvertrag einzutragen. If you have indicated on your reservation that you are a non-U.