Click to enter links that are helpful and easy to use anytime from your computer. While there, you must pass a vision screening, a written exam and a skills test. Holders of Class C license may, with any appropriate endorsements, operate all vehicles in that class. Information Covered in the Manual The manual provides information regarding different types of licenses, state traffic laws, road signs, safe driving information and regulations — all of which will help you drive safely and successfully. Before you can get your permit, however, you will have to take and pass a written knowledge test.
It is the most used and abused drug in America today; alcohol can and has ruined the lives of untold millions. To pass the knowledge test, you are allowed to miss 2 of the 10 questions about road signs, and 10 of the 50 questions about road rules. Inspecting Cargo, Cargo Weight and Balance, Securing Cargo, Handling Other Cargo. It allows a person to operate a vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a valid license for 2 years. Hours should be logged in a provided form by the supervisor and driver. Note: The road test will not be given until all other tests have been successfully completed.
When certification is issued to students, records remain on file at the school for two years. Pass all of the general practice tests and the road sign tests with a score of 100 percent and you will be ready to get your Maine drivers license written exams. Birth certificates or Passports are required of applicants up to and including age 22 to determine date of birth. The military has since installed the protocol of exhaustive training and skill development, and the results are extraordinary. The focus is on the prevention of collisions despite adverse conditions and unsafe actions of other drivers. A leaky muffler improperly discharges poisonous fumes.
Failure to produce evidence of insurance when required can result in a charge of uninsured operation and suspension of license and registration privileges. You must contact our central office in Augusta and renew your license on time. Other Suspensions at Discretion of the Secretary of State The license of any person whom the Secretary of State determines is incompetent to drive, e. Residents younger than age 18 need the approval of parents and legal guardians to hold licenses. What Should Your Score be on Practice Tests? Incompetence relative to physical or mental handicaps is determined in accordance with established rules Chapter 3, as amended , Physical, Emotional and Mental Competence to Operate a Motor Vehicle. The motorcycle driver's handbook focuses on the traffic laws and safety specific to operating motorcycles and trikes. Some details in your Maine driver manual might seem irrelevant or insignificant for improving your driving skills or driver knowledge.
The Secretary of State is obligated to impose the suspension for second and subsequent offenses. What is a title and how do you apply for one? Only your careful attention and skill can accomplish what we all wish, that you enjoy many miles of safe driving in Maine, and wherever the road takes you. These drivers may only operate vehicles while a valid supervisor is in the car. In fact, Maine occasionally uses legal road blocks for just that purpose. If you have borrowed money to pay for the car, the bank or credit union that lent you the money will get the title. And since our practice tests are free, you can take them as many times as it takes you to remember all those questions! Bring your learners permit and appointment notice with you.
Suspension of a Minor's License or Permit Any person who has signed the application of a minor for an operator's license or instruction permit can, thereafter, file, with the Secretary of State, a notarized written re- quest asking that the minor's license or instruction permit be suspended. Intent of the Regulations, Transporting Hazardous Materials, Communication Rules, Loading and Unloading, Bulk Tanks, Federal Driving and Parking Rules, Dealing with Emergencies, Appendix A - Table of HazMat Class Definitions, Hazardous Materials Warning Labels and Placards. Therefore, you should verify and carry evidence of insurance in the vehicle. Test on Wednesday, November 28th, 2012. The designated criminal offenses, including convictions, are: assault, aggravated assault, elevated aggravated assault, criminal threatening, and reckless conduct. Applicants then take the written test and vision screening at a local licensing office.
To do it well takes a lot of skill and judgment. The foot brake must be able to stop the vehicle within 30 feet when the vehicle is going 20 miles per hour. Assigned Risk : Any individual unable to procure insurance coverage through regularchannels for whatever reasons, can obtain coverage through the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan. Also consider taking an online for further study. Take our practice permit test right now and prove you're a competent driver.
This is one of the most common reasons for suspension. With only the most important information included, you can focus on what's necessary to pass your test and ignore everything else. Any vehicle you are operating must be insured even though you are not the owner. Telephone numbers and general information. Responsible motorists avoid operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants or engaging in other dangerous behaviors such as texting and driving.